A Case of the Mondays…and Weekly Salads No. 1

 

AVOCADO AND GRAPEFRUIT SALAD

cit_avo_sal_1.jpg

 

Every Monday, at the beginning of each work week, I tell myself that this is the day that I begin to, once and for all, eat and live right. Of course, by mid-week, I’m like, “bacon is good for you, right?”

So, to keep myself on track, I’m going to try to post a healthy salad on Mondays now. My first salad is made of red grapefruit segments, avocado (I used Hass), sliced shallots – served with a basic vinaigrette [3 parts extra virgin olive + 1 part red wine vinegar + dijon mustard + S&P].

I like the contrast of the acid and tart flavors of the grapefruit with the rich, fatty taste of avocado. When I first made this for Pierre, he declared it a Top 10 item. A man after my own heart, I tell ya. It’s simple, seasonal and sexy. The 3 s’s.

Bon appétit!

 

8 Responses to “A Case of the Mondays…and Weekly Salads No. 1”

  1. Shayne Says:

    I love this photo and I have grapefruit and avocado, I am going to have to try this.

  2. Miss Scarlett Says:

    I am so making this. I’ve been finding some AMAZING grapefruit at the markets lately and this will be a perfect (and healthy!) use for them. And it’s an excuse to eat shallots. SOLD!

  3. holybasil Says:

    Shayne- Thanks – let me know what you think 🙂
    Miss Scarlet – I agree, it’s a great way to use our citrus.

  4. Warda Says:

    Beautiful Slad Christine. Looking forward to more Mondays!

  5. Jen Says:

    That is such a fab combination. Okay, I’ll admit anything with avocado and citrus is totally amazing. It’s almost like a guacamole decomposed. Good for you to get these salad juices flowing!

  6. Pierre Says:

    If you think that salads are boring, try this one!
    I know you are going to love it!
    The flavors are amazing together, and the colors in this salad make it an all-time favorite for me!

  7. holybasil Says:

    Warda- Merci!
    Jen- guacamole decomposed – why didn’t I think of that?
    Pierre- merci 🙂

  8. Mom Says:

    Are we still getting together this weekend with the food bloggers? Can you remind me of the details? I misplaced your original email. Mine’s momskitchen at comcast dot net


Leave a comment