Weekly Salad 20: Fresh Peas with Lettuce

 

 

The summer season is finally here and I’ve been trying to fit as many u-pick dates as I can for the various fruits and vegetables that are available in our area. Our first picking took place at Rowe’s Produce Farm in Ypsilanti, Michigan. Like good ol’ city folk, we got up at sunrise and headed out to the fields to pick their strawberries as well as their peas. Picking peas is not so bad because they’re usually clustered together. Shelling them wasn’t bad either (better than shelling favas, that’s for sure).

Fresh peas are a real treat if you can get them. They have a firm flesh that is not as starchy as canned or frozen ones tend to be. They’re nice any way you prepare them – steamed, sautéed or boiled. For this salad, gently steam the peas until they’re just cooked and toss them with lettuce and top with a poached egg for an easy and delicious salad.

 

 

With the green shells, I made a quick soup by cooking them with some chicken broth, one small peeled potato (to add body to the soup), one garlic clove, some onion, and S&P until soft. I blended the whole thing and strained it through a sieve. You can add a little milk or cream to the mix before serving. Nothing to waste – rien ne se jete.

 

PEA SHELL SOUP

 

ADIEU EVERYDAY COOK

 

 

On Saturday, June 21, Pierre and I ate our last lunch at Everyday Cook in Kerrytown – downtown Ann Arbor – it was the restaurant’s final day before closing. It was a bittersweet time for us as we appreciate what they were doing there, providing fresh, inventive food from a daily changing menu featuring local ingredients. I ordered Chef Brendan’s Chicken & Chorizo Paella with Peas & Roasted Red Peppers and Pierre ordered the Pork Tenderloin with Quince Aioli & Orange Asparagus Salad. Both were great. I wish I knew how the quince aioli was made – it tasted divine. We also shared a St. James tart with none other than KitchenChick – who, incidentally, sat at the same table as us. We wish the chefs and the owners much luck and hope that they find another food venture that can excite people the way Everyday Cook did.

Check out these blog posts:

Picking strawberries and peas from Four Obsessions

Fresh peas two ways from KitchenChick

 

Bon appétit!

 

26 Responses to “Weekly Salad 20: Fresh Peas with Lettuce”

  1. Fearless Kitchen Says:

    This looks wonderful, as always. I tend to think that peas are best cooked simply, but then again I really like the flavor of peas. I also really liked your idea of making a soup from the pods, rather than letting them go to waste!

  2. [eatingclub vancouver] js Says:

    I didn’t even know that the pods can be used for any other purpose. I thought after they have been divested they have fulfilled their role. 😉

    Thanks for the tip. I find myself liking peas more and more, even braising them with lettuce, like recently.

  3. Warda Says:

    I never thought you could use the pods for anything. How smart!

  4. Kate Says:

    I just harvested a load of peas from my garden–I’m going to give the pod soup a try! Were they sugar snap peas or English peas that you used? I think most of the ones from my garden are sugar snap, but I’m curious if you’ve made the soup with the English pods too.

  5. chocolateshavings Says:

    That salad looks great for summer, especially with the egg!

  6. White on Rice Says:

    The first picture is just beautiful and brilliant! It looks like a flower!

    I just love sugar snap peas too . The pea shell soup looks just awesome too. I would never think about just using the shell.

    So sad they are closing their doors. Why?

  7. Chez US Says:

    Can’t believe you are blogging this recipe. We just got a cookbook, from Lenny’s cousin in the Azores and the first recipe he turned to was this brilliant pea salad w/egg – he was drooling all over it and is now drooling all over you. What a great idea with the pea shells, I will be trying this out!

  8. Jen Yu Says:

    Those peas are soooo beautiful. I was never a pea fan until I ate them fresh 🙂 I am also annoyed that I didn’t see this post for what – two weeks?! I’m wondering if my google feed is messed up or maybe it posted when I was feeling crappy – who knows! Bummed about the restaurant closing. Turnover is high in that industry, but you always want the good ones to stay open 😦

  9. Edward Vielmetti Says:

    We were at Rowe’s on Father’s Day, and I’ll note that two small boys can do much more efficient pea-picking than they can do strawberry picking.

    I love the pea shell soup idea! That looks great.

    Our pea recipe for the year was with fresh ricotta (there was a NY Times recipe) which turned out great on top of baby shells – next time it will get a little mint too.

  10. justfoodnow Says:

    The pod soup is a winner and has become a really special treat for a lot of the poorer communities in Cape Town who usually throw this away!

    I made it as a starter for a family meal, by the way – delicious!

  11. Passionate Eater Says:

    What beautiful ideas using peas as an ingredient! Both are so well suited for the seasons too: I think you’ve just given me inspiration to make the pea shell soup for a chilly day and pea salad for a summery day!

  12. Toni Says:

    I stumbled on to this blog by googling “Bitter Melon”. I was explaining it to someone in a community on LiveJournal, and wanted to show a picture. I found some pictures, but I also found your recipe for that soup – it sounds amazing! If I lived in an area where I could still find FRESH Asian produce, I’d definitely be trying it.

    I already love your pictures and reading your snippets about food, restaurants, etc. I’m bookmarking this! You’re an inspiration to a culinary graduate that is losing the love for cooking because people suck. 😦

  13. Irene Says:

    I hope everything is ok 🙂 I miss the weekly salads!

  14. shayne Says:

    we are missing you out here! hope you come back soon!

  15. Andrea Says:

    looks like you are missing in action… Just dropped by for inspiration. We are having a Thai birthday party for Janet’s 50th! Wish you could be here! We may try and repeat your spring rolls. We’ll see. Get in touch.

  16. Passionate Eater Says:

    Hello, just wanted to drop a note saying that I miss you too. Hope you are well.

  17. tennen-parman Says:

    Hi, I am Tennen-Perman,E-mail from Japan.
    I visited your site sometimes so far.
    You have a cool site.
    I linked your site in my blog.
    I administer a blog talking about cooking.
    Please link to my site in your ones if you like it.

    http://impact-cook.blogspot.com/

    thank you!

  18. gottabkd Says:

    Um….. helllllllllooooooo

    Where are you? Are you missing in action doing something spectacular???

    Udate soon please!!

  19. shayne Says:

    I found a place that has flaminco dancing every Saturday night in Canton

  20. tara Says:

    Hi,
    I really enjoy your site and I feel like your information is very useful. I recently started a small food storage business and have created a website dedicated to helping people build up their emergency food supply. I was wondering if you would be willing to put a link to our site from yours. Our site is http://www.foodstoragedepot.com. Feel free to check it out and see what you think. You can put the link anywhere you feel that it would not distract from your own information. If this is something that you are interested in please contact me at this email address (taraivers@gmail.com) and we would be glad send you some of our product. Thanks,
    Tara

  21. Chau Says:

    A friend linked your Ca Kho To recipe to your site, and I am thrilled. I haven’t been able to replicate mom’s cooking (as she does not measure). So excited to try Viet cooking at our house now. I don’t know if you’re still blogging, but I hope you’ll start again. In the meantime, I’ll go through the different recipes. Thanks again.

  22. Alejandra Says:

    It’s been so long since you’ve posted! I randomly wandered onto here today. I hope all is well. I miss your blog!

  23. Mary Shaldibina Says:

    I’d like to personally invite you to join the CookEatShare Author network. On November 28th, 2009, I began indexing your posts and enabling CookEatShare.com visitors to find them. CookEatShare has had over 2.5 million unique visitors in 2009, and I think they will be interested in your content. Users are being guided to your actual blog, so this is a free way to increase page views and visitors to your site.

    Please contact me at mary@cookeatshare.com to get unique link to claim and customize your profile or request one at http://cookeatshare.com/featured-author.

  24. Jennifer Says:

    I LOVE fresh peas! We used to grow many acres of them on our farm. Love the idea of the egg and salad with them! beautiful photos!

  25. John Grantins Says:

    Just stumbled in on your website. Fantastic ideas. Hope to get regular info. As a certain State Governor used to say “ILL BE BACK!!!”

  26. Nami | Just One Cookbook Says:

    Hi Christine! I came here from Bam’s Kitchen. You make beautiful food! I need to come here more often from now on! Nice to meet you. 🙂


Leave a comment