Weekly Salad 15: Gỏi Bắp Cải Gà – Vietnamese Chicken & Cabbage Slaw

 

Viet Cabbage Slaw

 

I’ve slacked off a bit with posting my weekly salads. No need to be alarmed – I haven’t quite fallen off the wagon. (I did, however, eat 2 Coney hot dogs a day for three days straight, last week.) Those things are so awesome. Anyway, to balance my meat-on-a-bun binge, I’ve enjoyed this salad. It’s sort of an everyday salad because the ingredients are ones many of us usually have in stock. If you like coleslaw but want something healthier but still bright and flavorful, you could try this salad. Also, because there is no mayonnaise or cream in the dressing, it’s great for parties or picnics as there’s less of a spoilage issue.

I used Taiwanese Cabbage – which can be distinguished by its flatter shape. When cut in half, each side has an oblong shape. The leaf ribs of this cabbage are smaller and narrower than regular cabbage and it has a slightly milder (& sweeter?) taste. You can also use regular cabbage, as I often do. Red cabbage would also be nice, for both color and flavor.

 

GỞI BẮP CẢI GÀ – VIETNAMESE CHICKEN & CABBAGE SLAW

INGREDIENTS: (4-6 servings)

  • 1 head green [Taiwanese] cabbage, finely shredded
  • 1 large carrot, peeled and finely grated
  • 1 lb. (450 g) cooked [leftover] chicken meat (dark/white), hand shredded
  • 2 shallots, sliced into thin rings
  • large handful of fresh mint, leaves left whole or roughly-hand torn
  • large handful of fresh cilantro, coarsely chopped
  • large handful of freshly ground, toasted peanuts (optional)
  • approx. 4 Tbl. (60mL) of Spicy Sauce/Dressing (for this salad, replace 3 Tbl. (45mL) of white rice vinegar for the lime juice)

STEPS:

Combine all ingredients except for the peanuts and dressing. When ready to serve, thoroughly toss with the dressing and scatter the ground peanuts over the entire dish.

Bon appétit!

 

16 Responses to “Weekly Salad 15: Gỏi Bắp Cải Gà – Vietnamese Chicken & Cabbage Slaw”

  1. Wandering Chopsticks Says:

    Your weekly salads always make me feel like I should be eating healthier. Maybe some day, I actually will. 😉 Where’s the rau ram? You can’t have chicken without rau ram! 😛

    Hehe. I made goi ga without cabbage. With cabbage, I also call it goi bap cai ga too. But some random commenter was all like, did you ever try adding cabbage? Well, yeah but my recipe was goi ga alone. Sheesh! Everyone’s a critic! Actually, I think I was annoyed b/c they then went on their blog dissecting how their mom makes it differently. Well, they should have made their own, photographed it, and blogged about it instead of complaining about how I don’t cook like their momma! Sorry, I think it’s my day to complain.

  2. Jen Yu Says:

    Yay, teh salads are back! You know, when I was a kid I didn’t like raw cabbage at all. Now as an adult (and I use that term loosely) I love raw cabbage! I love the Viet style salads you post because they’re a new twist on some favorite fundamental ingredients. This looks gorgeous as do all of your salads. I’m psyched to give it a try in a few weeks (w00t!).

  3. Fearless Kitchen Says:

    I’ve always been very hesitant about cabbage in any form. Somehow the sight of head cabbage conjures memories of the dishes my grandmother had to prepare for my Mom’s birthday every year – always involving cabbage boiled to within an inch of my life, filling the whole house with this horrific stench that makes me think of chemical weapons. I’m trying to work through this slowly, starting with raw cabbage (no stink.) This salad would be a great way for me to try that!

  4. Chez US Says:

    Yippy! The salads are back. We were really getting into them, especially the Viet ones and now that I am armed with fish sauce, we need to get cracking and “healthy”!

    Hope all is well!!

  5. White on Rice Says:

    Love the taiwanese cabbage! We’ve had our video exposure with this one! *plug our video here*

    You’ve gotten me to eat much more salads Christine! I usually eat plenty of it, but I’m now eating it twice a day cause of you girl!

  6. Warda Says:

    Lovely salad, indeed. Cabbage in a salad is one of my favorite ways of eating this veggie. Will look my eyes open for this type of cabbage.

  7. chocolateshavings Says:

    I have a newfoud love for cabbage, so this looks great! Lovely pictures too.

  8. stickyfingers Says:

    We eat something similar, but throw in some smashed up ramen straight from the packet for extra crunch just before serving with some fried shallots and Thai basil. When I use red cabbage then I shred in leftover roast duck instead of chicken and add extra chilli and cashews. YUM!

  9. Tartelette Says:

    Your salads are always an inspiration and this is just gorgeous!

  10. mycookinghut Says:

    Another good salad 🙂 Yum..

  11. mandira Says:

    wow, this looks delicious!
    I just came across your blog, you have a wonderful collection of recipes. Are you based in Ann Arbor too… I am adding you to local blogroll on my blog (ahaar.blogspot.com)

  12. holybasil Says:

    WC – Yes, you’re absolutely right – Gỏi is not the same without rau răm (aka Vietnamese coriander) – but I until summer comes around and my pot of Viet herbs gets going, I don’t always have easy access to certain herbs and thus have to make do without. I sometimes have to drive about an hour to a Vietnamese grocer that carries rau răm and other herbs — with high gas prices, it’s a little too dear for herbs, I’m afraid 😦

    Jen- if you use that term loosely, I fear for many in our society 🙂 I always liked raw cabbage, but mainly in Vietnamese preparations. I only started eating coleslaw recently. It has to be made just right or else I’m not diggin’ it. I’m happy for the end of your treatment – keepin’ my fingers crossed always!

    FearlessKitchen – ahh, boiled cabbage. I think that’s the ONE dish my Dad actually made for us growing up (and that was only because my mom was in the hospital giving birth to my youngest sister). I like this salad because cabbage is easy to come by – much more than papaya or mango, sometimes.

    ChezUs – Thanks! Indeed, you’ve got the good stuff now 🙂 I’m sure whatever you guys make will be fabulous- as they always are.

    WORC – Oh thanks! When you start sportin’ them tube tops, you can thank me, right? 🙂

    Warda – Oh thanks! I’ll try to have one with me next time we get together 🙂

    ChocolateShavings – Thanks! I hope culinary school is going well for ya.

    Stickyfingers- your recipe sounds a bit like a chinese chicken salad I’ve had. I like the combination of nuts and ramen. I use to snack on uncooked ramen like crackers. So good!

    Tartelette – Oh thanks!

    Mycookinghut – Thanks!

    Mandira – Yes, I’m in Ann Arbor. Thanks for the checking my blog and for the add 🙂

  13. Luna Pier Cook Says:

    Gorgeous salad aside, which kind of coneys were those? I’m hoping they were the better Flint version! 😉

  14. Foodaholic Says:

    Fabulous looking salad! It’s one of my childhood favorites as my mom used to make it all the time.
    Btw, you have a great blog! I am glad my friend John told me to check it out.

  15. t3peace Says:

    This one is very light and healthy !
    Every time I make this salad, both me and my fiancé loose at least 1 kg !! Incredible !

  16. holybasil Says:

    LunaPierCook- Hmmm…don’t know if I’ll stoke the fire by answering that 🙂 By the way, where can one find the Flint version?

    Foodaholic- Thanks!

    T3peace – Good heavens, 1 Kg! 🙂


Leave a Reply

