I Can Has Memz?

 

dsc_9477-copy.jpg

 

Our time in California and the West is going great. I am soaking up all the sun and the less than freezing temperatures and wearing flip flops everywhere. I haven’t had reliable internet connection lately so I was late to find out about being tagged for a meme. I didn’t know what a ‘meme’ was until now but I’ve rectified that. Normally, I’m the person that ends any chain letter or email forwarding campaign. I guess countless children have been robbed of an organ transplant because I didn’t send/forward that email to my friends in the next 8 minutes. Whoops. Anyway, it is different this time because I’ve been tagged by Jen of Use Real Butter, Diane of WhiteonRiceCouple, and Warda of 64sqftKitchen. I am a sucker for smart, funny women and these women are that and a bag of chips. They and their blogs kick royal ass. 

Below are the rules of the game and some truly interesting and thought-provoking things you might not know about me: 

The Rules, people:  

1. Link to your tagger and post these rules.
2. Share 5 facts about yourself.
3. Tag 5 people at the end of your post and list their names (linking to them).
4. Let them know they’ve been tagged by leaving a comment at their blogs.

The memz:

1. My all-time favorite movies: Braveheart, Pretty Women, A Streetcar Named Desire, Au Revoir Les Enfants, Officespace

2. When I was seven years old, I was so obsessed with Cyndi Lauper that I asked everyone – family, friends and neighbors to call me Cyndi. This lasted for over a year. I don’t delude myself as much anymore and I’ve stopped stalking her.

3. My favorite cartoon is Get Fuzzy by Darby Conley. I’ve read it since it’s beginning and ever since, it’s been a part of my daily reading. I love you Bucky!

4. I am addicted to So You Think You Can Dance. Pierre and I watch (and record) every episode and when the Top Ten finalists came to Detroit recently as part of their tour, we stood elbow to elbow with thousands of screaming teens, cheering our hearts out. It was so cool. 

5. If I could be reincarnated as anything I wanted, I would be born into a Spanish family of Flamenco dancers and musicians. For me, flamenco dancing embodies everything about life and love — it is all these things at once: balletic, joyful, coy, explosive, sensual, deep, dark and melancholy and real… and as my friend Carmen says, flamenco dancers have fire in their souls and passion in their feet.  ¡Olé!

The tageez (in alphabetical order of blog name):

The Farmer’s Marketer – it’s a dirty job, but someone’s got to do it.

Shayne of fruitcakeortnuts – she cooks and bakes with her adorable children. She’s a superstar.

The Guilty Carnivore – he’s funny, like pee-in-your-pants funny.

Mycookinghut –  I love learning about Malaysia from her blog (as well as Rasa Malaysia). She cooks up some mean Malay, French and Chinese grub.

WanderingChopsticks – a fellow Vietster whose food blog I recently found and am now hooked on. She’s from the south-central region and we all know their food rules.

Now go out and buy da album, yo! Or just check them out – they rock :) 

 

Posted in meme. 8 Comments »

8 Responses to “I Can Has Memz?”

  1. White On Rice Couple Says:

    I still love Cyndi and there’s nothing wrong with wanting to be her as a kid. Also on my list was George Michael of Wham! and Boy George…~.~.karma, karma,karma, chameleon…you come and go…you come and go (rising tone here).~.~
    Thanks for sharing a bit more about yourself and making me appreciate my 80’s music more!🙂

  2. Warda Says:

    I remember the first time I saw Braveheart. I couldn’t stop crying. The film was over and I couldn’t stop crying! I went to bed after the film and couldn’t stop crying! I am dead serious! My father calls me: “robinet”.
    Glad to know you’re enjoying your time in California, Cyndi! I mean, Christine😉
    It has been snowing since yesterday here. 3 inches of snow.

  3. mycookinghut Says:

    Thanks for letting me know. I assume I would have to write up a post as what you did and tag 5 people..🙂

  4. Wandering Chopsticks Says:

    I have no rhythm so it’s a good thing I can cook. Aww, you just wanted to have fun.😉

    I did this last year (it’s on my sidebar). But since I got tagged twice again, I think this means I have to come up with facts for another round. Hehe.

  5. holybasil Says:

    WhiteonRiceCouple – haha – I knew you’d be an 80s rocker🙂
    Warda- I cried watching Braveheart too! Like when he married her in secret – remember? *sniff* Stay warm, mon amie🙂
    Mycookinghut- Looking forward to your 5 facts🙂
    Wandering Chopsticks – Don’t we all wanna have fun?🙂
    Another round, please!

  6. Jen Says:

    I like these 5 facts! And now I know I’m probably a half decade ahead of ya – I too remember Cyndi and what a rage she was among the young women of my age group😉 I still get shivers thinking about wearing turquoise and pink together though!

  7. Kim Says:

    Hi Christine

    I had fun reading your fun facts. I’ve completed my first meme-ing assignment. Thanks!

    http://www.thefarmersmarketer.com/all_about_memememe.html

    Kim

  8. holybasil Says:

    Jen – turquoise and pink – colors for your next knitted scarf? What d’ya think?🙂
    Kim – thanks for the meme — I guessed you to be a red neck, too. No, I’m kidding! Fun to read!


Leave a Reply

