Weekly Salad 5: Shaved Celery with Gruyère

 

dsc_8077_edited3.jpg

 

I love the flavor of celery and I thought it would be nice to make a salad that was similar to one I had recently which featured raw, shaved fennel. I add a few leaves of Chinese celery for a contrast in color as well as flavor.  Chinese celery’s sharp, assertive flavor is a nice contrast to the delicate celery and the gruyère adds a nice richness and nuttiness to the entire dish. I think flat-leaf parsley would also be good here. I might try it with some sliced kumquats next time.  

The celery is first peeled using a vegetable peeler (this helps to keep it from being too stringy when eating) before it is cut into paper-thin slices . Serve with a simple dressing of red wine vinegar/lemon juice and extra virgin olive oil [ + S&P].  

Bon appétit!

 

 

8 Responses to “Weekly Salad 5: Shaved Celery with Gruyère”

  1. Pierre Says:

    I wish I could have tried this one! It looks very crunchy and just delicious…
    What a great idea to add some gruyere to the mix!

    I guess you must have used some Meyer lemon juice with the red wine vinegar…🙂

  2. Wandering Chopsticks Says:

    Ooh, this reminds me of one of my favorite salads. I do a celery, bleu cheese, and walnut salad with lemon juice, olive oil, black pepper, and parmesan dressing. I think the simplicity of cheese and celery really balances each other. It’s really strange how just celery and cheese make the whole salad but it totally works.

  3. White On Rice Couple Says:

    We’ve been eating quite of bit of fennel lately, but your clever use of chinese celery has an equivalent sharp, fresh flavor. And you top it off with guyere ! Geez, this is a perfect example of how the simple power of two ingredients is all you need to satisfy. Great!

  4. holybasil Says:

    Pierre- Merci… And yes, it was meyer lemon ;0
    Wandering Chopsticks – wow parmesa and blue cheese! sounds like a flavorful salad. You’re right, it’s just two ingredients here, but it does work nicely.
    WhiteonRice-Thanks! I love fresh fennel too. It’s great to get in season now. I’ll have to try making that salad soon.

  5. mycookinghut Says:

    Looks like nice combination. I love Gruyère cheese. Looks really appetising!!

  6. Jen Says:

    I think celery is an underrated vegetable in my book. I really like it, but I never think I do. It lends great flavor to so many cooked dishes and plenty of raw ones. I love the way you sliced them so thin and delicate. Gruyère is one of Jeremy’s favorites🙂

  7. chocolateshavings Says:

    Simple salads are often the best… I have a feeling this one fits that definition !

  8. holybasil Says:

    Mycookinghut- Thanks!
    Jen – I agree – celery is quite underrated. It’s good to know Jeremy has good taste in cheese and women!🙂
    Chocolate Shavings – Thanks!


Leave a Reply

