Weekly Salad 4: Chicken with Poached Egg

 

 

I don’t know if I’ve mentioned this before, but I make roast chicken EVERY week. This is because Pierre thinks if he doesn’t eat his poulet rôti regularly He. Will. Die. I’m not complaining because I do love making it and eating it as well. Although Pierre will not agree, I find it’s rather boring after a while. I always have left over chicken in the fridge and I try my best to find good, different ways to use the left over meat. I mean, a little *diversity* once in a while can’t hurt, right? Speaking of which, will Hillary prevail tomorrow?

Anyway, this is a simple salad that I make with leftover chicken. It has Bibb/butter lettuce with grated carrots and a poached egg . It’s great color-wise, texture-wise and it takes little time to prepare. Serve with a vinaigrette of [1 part wine vinegar + 3 parts olive oil + finely minced shallot + dijon mustard + S&P].

 

Bon appétit!

 

 

9 Responses to “Weekly Salad 4: Chicken with Poached Egg”

  1. Shayne Says:

    This looks really good (right texture combo is very important) and we are big roast chicken fans around here; however, now quite once a week. I have also made white chili out of leftover roast chicken recently and it was really good…forgot what I did before I blogged about it, but it was good.

  2. White On Rice Couple Says:

    We hope Pierre knows just how lucky of a frenchman he actually is ! Homemade cha gio, then banh chung and now roasted chicken. Lucky guy!

  3. holybasil Says:

    Shayne- White Chili sounds great – I haven’t made that in a long time. Thanks for reminding me. (I still have to make your oatmeal pancakes🙂

    WhiteonRice- Girrrl, please! Look at your bánh mì!🙂

  4. Warda Says:

    Salut Christine!
    Lucky man indeed!
    I told you how the hubby hates everything that is undercooked. Well! the other day I made poached eggs for a salad, and I left the egg yolk a little runny. Just a little bit. He didn’t want to eat it. Oh well, more for me, I guess! Merci mon cheri!
    The best poulet roti that I had was years ago, at my grandmother’s place. Since then, I cannot say that I made nor have a roasted chicken that had left its mark on me.
    That’s sad! I should really perfect my poulet roti recipe.

  5. mycookinghut Says:

    We had poulet rôti last weekend! Like you, I always have left over chicken and make no waste of it. I usually like to make shredded roast chicken with mixed salad leaves and tomatoes sandwiches! Simplement délicieux!

  6. Kevin Says:

    It is always good to have some leftover roast chicken left over. You can do some many things with it. The salad looks good!

  7. holybasil Says:

    Tiens, Warda – What? No oeuf mollet for your hubby? And no lemon tart? I think we need to talk🙂 We should have a BBQ and a rôti-a-thon!
    Mycookinghut -tomato and shredded chicken salad are great sandwich fixins’!
    Kevin – Thanks! Well, you and Pierre would agree that it’s always good to have leftover chicken🙂

  8. Jen Says:

    The thing that is so lovely about salads is the versatility. Sort of like sandwiches (I love salads too, but they don’t make my top 10 list… maybe I just love everything?) But to top with a poached egg? That is something that never occurred to me and now I’m getting a little twitch in my right eye😉 I love runny yolks and this salad has a runny yolk – it looks so satisfying. Yum!!!

  9. holybasil Says:

    Jen – salads aren’t in your top 10, huh? I’m not sure if they’re in mine either – unless you count Gỏi🙂 I like my eggs with a soft center (kinda like me) – okay, no, not really…but runny yolks rule!


Leave a Reply

