Weekly Salad 18: Mango Salad

 

mango

 

Mangoes are a favorite fruit of mine. I’ll take a mango over a pear or an apple any day – yeah, even a Michigan apple(!). When I have in mah hot hands some ripe mangoes, you will undoubtedly find me eating all of the fruit and then standing over the sink and gnawing the seed, my hands and wrists covered in sticky mango juice. Because that is the only sensible thing to do.

Perhaps not as popular or common as papaya salad, mango salad (Gỏi Xoài) has all the crunchy and herbally goodness of the version made with papaya. Traditionally made with firm, green mangoes (Xoài Xanh), it’s another simple and rather addictive salad that is great for the muggy weather we’ve been having here. WanderingChopsticks has a really, really great version here. For mine, I used regular, very firm, unripe mangoes that I peeled and then shredded using the blue Kiwi knife, some fresh spearmint, some sliced red bell pepper, and the usual sweet-tart-tangy dipping sauce.

Bon appétit!

 

15 Responses to “Weekly Salad 18: Mango Salad”

  1. Wandering Chopsticks Says:

    Yours looks so much better than mine. I was lazy and used a grater. I need a kiwi knife. I have a kiwi butcher knife that I love though. :)

  2. mycookinghut Says:

    Love mango salad….especially those which are slightly sour… :)

  3. shayne Says:

    I looked at the photo and thought that it was hot chilli peppers on the salad which I think would be good too. This salad looks great and will have to try it one of these hot days coming up.

  4. Fearless Kitchen Says:

    I love mangoes. I haven’t found a dish with mangoes that I don’t like. Naturally this photo is making me hungry!

  5. Denise Says:

    Yum! I love Mangoes but I never eat them besides by themselves, in the same manner as you do! This sounds like a great salad, will be trying it out soon. By the way, where do you get that kiwi knife, I like it.

  6. Chuck Says:

    Beautiful photo. It’s the perfect salad for a hot summer day.

  7. White on Rice Says:

    You’ve got some great knife skills, Christine! Those thin strips look perfect and delicious! You’re hubby is a lucky man, eating all these great, healthy and flavorful salads. And you can show him whose the boss with the knife! ;)

  8. Jen Yu Says:

    I always eat my mangoes fruity – as in ripe and juicy and dripping all over me. But I am intrigued by the unripe mango in your salad!! Oh wait, I’ve had pickled green mangoes (an Indian snack/condiment) with my freshman roommate (who is Indian). It’s amazingly spicy and hot and we used to sit in our dorm room eating them and crying. I doubt your salad would make me cry tears of pain though, probably just tears of joy ;)

  9. Warda Says:

    Never thought about using unripe mango in salads. But it sure looks yummy.

  10. holybasil Says:

    WC – Oh, I dunno about that. I really wanted to use dried cuttlefish – as you did. Next time. You know, I imagine the Kiwi knife is dirt cheap out there. I had to drive an hour to get the one I have.

    Mycookinghut – Yeah. I like dipping slices of sour mango into chili-lime-sugar mix.

    Shayne – Hot chilies would be great – I like the sour hot flavors in that.

    FearlessKitchen – I agree – mangoes are very high on my fruit list.

    Denise – Thanks – perhaps you’ll find one in the mail one of these days ;)

    Kelly – thanks!

    Chuck – Thanks – it’s been incredibly warm here in the Midwest so it was a welcome treat.

    WORC – Oh, I owe it to the kiwi knife :)

    Jen – I hope you”ll try green and sour mangoes sometime – they’re addictive!

    Warda – Merci :)

  11. [eatingclub vancouver] js Says:

    Gorgeous-looking mango salad!

    I love green mangoes and prefer them to ripe ones myself. Unfortunately, we can’t get green mangoes in our neck of the woods.

    I miss green mango slushes!

  12. David R. Sky Says:

    I’m in Vancouver B.C. and have been looking for fresh spearmint.
    No luck calling local stores or googling so far – any suggestions?
    Thanks! David

  13. David Gortler Says:

    Well, Mango is king of fruit, I heard that somewhere.. and I love the look of it and that looks very yummy. I will try this in New Year.

    Thanks a lot.
    David

  14. Mellie Says:

    Where do I get sour mangoes from? I’ve been just dying to get my hands on some since living in Thailand last year. Sliced up and dipped in some salt, sugar, and chilli flakes is my fave!! Please let me know if you have any ins..


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

