Weekly Salad 16: Goat Cheese with Candied Kumquats and Chive Vinaigrette

 

salad

 

The other day, I came home after a very long day to find a parcel waiting for me in the hallway. It was sent from Denise and Lenny from the wonderful ChezUs blog. Without even taking off my shoes, I went straight for the box. Oh, I’m just messin’ with ya, Ma — I always take my shoes off first ;)

Inside, I found a beautiful loaf of Portuguese sweet bread, candied kumquats (which came in an ultra-cool Weck jar) and some fresh kumquats they had found at the market in San Francisco. Pierre and I ate the bread with some of the kumquats the next morning for breakfast. As we were eating, all I could do was nod be all, like, Totally, Dude.

The bread was like a moist, slightly dense panettone. Although I often find candied fruits and preserves too sweet for my taste, the kumquats’ acidity and tartness really balance the sugar syrup nicely in the preserves. Denise and Lenny, Muito Obrigado and if you decide to open a mail-order business with this bread, write me down for the first dozen :)

 

chives

 

Now that spring is finally here (or is it?), my fresh chives are starting to make a comeback and I’ve been eager to make a vinaigrette with them. They’re not fully grown so I had to resort to herbal thievery and stole some that were growing on the other side of a neighbor’s fence. Yes, I stole some chives. And a small dogwood branch.

I used the candied kumquats in this salad and they added such a delicious tangy-sweet taste to it. With creamy goat cheese and a fresh chive vinaigrette, it’s a simple and elegant salad for any day of the week. To make the chive vinaigrette, add fresh, finely chopped chives to some dijon mustard, olive oil and wine vinegar + S&P and mix together to form a smooth, emulsified dressing. Just before serving, toss your salad greens with the dressing and top with goat cheese and a few slices of candied kumquats.

 

bread

 

bread with kumquats

 

Bon appétit!

 

 

12 Responses to “Weekly Salad 16: Goat Cheese with Candied Kumquats and Chive Vinaigrette”

  1. VegeYum Ganga Says:

    Your photos are so beautiful. The salad looks so luscious too.

  2. Warda Says:

    Lovely! Lovely! Lovely! Everything! From the photos (especially the last one) to the salad and the combination of candied kumquats and goat cheese. Lovely indeed!
    But I am so gonna tell your neighbor about you stealing chives and dog wood ;) But knowing how nice your neighbors are, they might just smile and give you more!

    Bisous, ma cherie

  3. Chez US Says:

    Fantastic photos, you made everything look so …. Fantastic & Tasty! Thank you for the very nice write up!

  4. Fearless Kitchen Says:

    This looks great. I’m thinking that the goat cheese was just perfect with the candied kumquats. The chive vinaigrette was interesting too!

  5. Edamame Says:

    I am interested in much cooking that food culture and you of your country make. And I support your site. If there is time, please come in my site. From Japan
    http://food-soybean.blogspot.com/

  6. White on Rice Says:

    The photo’s are so beautiful and I’m JEALOUS of those lilacs. That’s a big plus about Michigan! and Yeah!! for your chives!
    Denise and Lenny are so fabulous, that’s an awesome care package! You really made the dish look beautiful and as always, I’m addicted to your salad series.

  7. Jen Yu Says:

    Gorgeous! Everything! I can’t believe you stole chives and dogwood!? ha ha ha! I’m just teasing. I’d have done it :) I love the look of that salad (goat cheese, mmmmmmm…) and the bread. Jeremy does that same thing when he eats something super delish (usually chocolate) – he’ll just sit there nodding and smiling.

  8. Casey Says:

    Lovely idea. I have such beautiful chive blossoms in my garden right now and am always looking for ways to use them. A beautiful site here, found thru Tastespotting.

  9. Jan Says:

    That looks delish – I love your photos and your blog, which I have just discovered!!

  10. Susan from Food Blogga Says:

    During the winter I made a kumquat chutney and served it with crostini and goats cheese. My guests loved it. If only I had had your garden fresh chives–that would have put it over the top!

  11. holybasil Says:

    VeganYum – Thanks!

    Warda – haha – don’t even think about, sister! :)
    I’ll be sure to bring some of the kumquats with me when we meet up! (Remind me, though)

    Denise and Lenny – Thanks to YOU guys :)

    Fearless Kitchen – Thanks and yes, I thought it was a great combination. Sometimes my fruit-cheese combinations don’t work, but in this case, it really did.

    Edamame – Thanks – I’ll check out your blog.

    WORC – You’re jealous? Good one, Garden-of-Eden-Diane :)

    Jen – Thanks! I knew you’d understand the nature- kleptomania :)

    Casey – Thanks! Chives are one of my favorite herbs – so versatile and they don’t overpower the way some herbs can.

    Jan – Thanks!

    Susan – Kumquat chutney with goat cheese sounds great. I’ve made a wine and kumquat marmalade recently and I think I’ll used your idea for a crostini – thanks!

  12. Lochy Says:

    Hi, Can I please ask where you got your glass jars used to store the candied kumquat pictured? thank you. Your website’s great.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

