Weekly Salads 8 and 9: Fava Beans with Pecorino and Parsley / Sugar Snap Peas with Tangelo

 

fava_pecorino.jpg

 

I complain/gripe/rant about Michigan a LOT. Pierre simply tunes me out most days. When I tell him that it was well over 75F the other day in Huntington Beach, I get little more than a shrug. Well, I’ve got two words for him – Flip Flops. They are awesome and I wore them until the plane landed in Detroit. Now, I’m typing this looking like Asian Southpark wearing a snow cap, two sweaters and sweatpants. Yes, pity, pity me. At least I mustered enough energy to make two salads (since I missed last week’s because there is little coverage in the snow stormed area of the Grand Canyon).
    The first salad is made with fresh fava beans that I found at ZZ Produce in Ypsilanti, Michigan. At this rather unassuming store, (okay, let’s be honest — little shack) one can find fresh fava beans, yucca, tamarind, Ya Li Pears, opo squash, okra, culantro (saw tooth herb) and so many other fruits and vegetables. Inside, I saw local Latino, Asian and Middle Eastern folks waiting in line to purchase their goods. I think it’s great to see such a diverse group of people in one small store that does little or no advertising save for a somewhat dilapidated sign near the front of the store.
      After preparing the fava beans for this salad, I’ve come to view the task of shucking and shelling them as fun as listening to K-Fed sing and having my appendix removed AT THE SAME TIME. But was it worth it? I’m supposed to say yes, and I will. Pretty darn good is my estimation. I love all sheep’s milk cheeses and pecorino is always lovely. I think fresh mint would also be nice here. Some recipes suggest leaving the beans raw but I decided to warm them in some roasted garlic oil before tossing with the pecorino, flat leaf parsley and fleur de sel.

       

      favas.jpg

       

      SUGAR SNAP PEAS WITH MINNEOLA TANGELOS AND SLICED ALMONDS

      sug_snp.jpg

       

      I know people who dislike green beans but love sugar snap peas. I don’t associate with such misguided people normally, but I’m willing to extend a branch of friendship with this salad. Sugar snap peas are finally coming into season and this is a simple salad with quickly-sauteéd peas, sliced minneola tangelos and toasted almonds. Serve with a dijon vinaigrette [dijon + 3 parts olive oil + 1 part red wine vinegar+ S&P].

      Check out these other posts/articles:

      Fava Beans: A Little Spring on Your Plate from NPR’s Kitchen Window

      Fava Bean Bruschetta at Vegalicious

      Bon appétit!

       

       

      14 Responses to “Weekly Salads 8 and 9: Fava Beans with Pecorino and Parsley / Sugar Snap Peas with Tangelo”

      1. Shayne Says:

        Welcome back and your salads look so pretty.

        Michigan is great if you don’t like the weather just wait 6 months and your basement will turn into a pool. speaking of flooded basements I was thinking about you and yours last night and I wanted to let you know that if you need help digging a trench this spring let me know, we can do that and plant some veggies too.

      2. Wandering Chopsticks Says:

        I love fava beans and often snack on them just lightly boiled. Try them in a salad with garbanzo beans with parmesan cheese, lemon juice, and salt and pepper. You can make bissara, a hummus-like dip with them too.

        Are they already in season there? I didn’t see them at the farmers’ market yesterday.

        The double shelling is a pain but they’re so green tasting it’s worth it. I remember coming across someone else who had them in a pasta but they didn’t remove the second shelling and ate them that way. I mentioned the second shelling but she said she didn’t mind the taste. Oh well?

      3. Warda Says:

        Fava beans are in season in Michigan?? I haven’t seen them yet! The hubby loves them. He eats them whole, steamed, with the skin and everything! Your salad look so fresh and clean :)

      4. Happy Cook Says:

        I have never seen these beans here. The salade looks so delicious and fresh

      5. Warda Says:

        Forgot to add: I hope you enjoyed the garlic oil!

      6. Rasa Malaysia Says:

        I am not much a bean person and have never seen fresh fava beans…interesting. Now I know. :)

      7. Jen Says:

        Oh, fresh favas!! That sounds wonderful. Does it help that your efforts at least paid off in a gorgeous looking salad? How was the GC? I hope you guys had a good time. Glad you are back safely albeit a tad chilly. Spring is around the corner, I swear it! :)

      8. holybasil Says:

        Shayne- Thank you for your offer! Mais, be careful, I just might have an extra shovel or two ;)

        WanderingChopsticks – your idea sounds great – we’ll see if I try the whole shucking/shelling thing again. I think if the beans are young and tender enough, the second shelling may not be totally necessary. So, I think I’ll look for young and tender ones next time and save some cursing! I found the fava beans at a middle eastern-ish produce store — but I’m fairly certain they’re not locally grown.

        Warda – lemons, no but fava beans, yes for your hubby. Check. :)

        RasaMalaysia – I imagine you’ll be seeing plenty of them soon in your warm, sunny area (jealous here).

        Jen- The effort was worth it this time – the salad was great. But, I’ll be looking for extra tender specimens next time (which might not require a 2nd shelling). Our trip out west was awesome. It was interesting to see a snow-capped GC. There was a foot of snow outside our cabin at Bright Angel Lodge – which, frankly, was all too familiar for me :) Still, the views are still phenomenal and I’m still sorting though thousands of photos. I know spring is around the corner, but tell that to the Michigan weather fairy!

      9. White On Rice Couple Says:

        You really missed the beautiful weather down here over the past few days! It’s been screaming out flip flops! and perfect 80 degree weather!
        Wow, you’ve got ZZ! That’s not bad because we really thought you lived in the sticks! :) Your tasty green legumes are shouting out “Spring”! and hopefully the glorious season will be following you all the way to Michigan!

      10. Hillary Says:

        Nicely done! I like this weekly salads bit, genius! That second salad is presented very well.

      11. holybasil Says:

        WhiteonRiceCouple- You’re killing me with the weather report and the tangerine photos on your blog! Ya know, there’s no place like Southern Cali but Ann Arbor is thankfully, not in the sticks.
        Hillary – Thanks!

      12. Gillian Says:

        Oh my goodness – I just found your blog through http://www.localfoodblog.com and I love, love, LOVE the photos!!!

        Cheers to that!

        Gillian

      13. holybasil Says:

        Gillian – thanks so much! Cheers :)

      14. nicole Says:

        couldnt be more True.


      Leave a Reply

            Follow

      Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

