Weekly Salad 7: Arugula, Ya Li Pear and Blue Cheese

 

pear_final.jpg

 

I discovered Ya Li pears (aka Yali pears) a few years ago and I always look forward to their season. I purchased some fresh arugula from the Huntington Beach Farmers Market and made a salad combining it with the pears. Ya Li pears are exremely sweet and juicy, much like the round, flatter and slightly brown skinned Asian pears. What I like about these pears is that I don’t feel I have to peel its delicate and thin skin. Pear and blue cheese are a great combination and the arugula adds a nice peppery contrast.

The arugula I bought tasted quite agressive as it is not as young and tender as I would have liked to use for a raw salad so slightly wilting it in a hot pan with oil (for about 30 seconds) helped to take the edge off of. Any good blue cheese will do. However, I am partial to the one made by Maytag. Add some toasted pecans or walnuts for extra oomph.

Bon appétit!

 

10 Responses to “Weekly Salad 7: Arugula, Ya Li Pear and Blue Cheese”

  1. Warda Says:

    Pears and Blue cheese (especially Roquefort) are the perfect combination. I’ve never seen these pears before. They are so pretty!

  2. Shayne Says:

    I agree I like these pears too. I only trid them because that is what the kids picked out at the market and I was happy I did. A good blue cheese shoulds good too.

  3. Madeline Says:

    Mmmm, those pears are beautiful. I love to make a salad with blue cheese, pears, pecans and bacon. The flavors are amazing together.

  4. Pierre Says:

    I can’t believe I missed your Monday salad again… I really feel like getting some Maytag blue cheese now… It is so good!
    And the combination with these pears really makes it irresistible!

  5. Cindy Says:

    I’ve never had yali pear before,
    Mmm,
    I wanna buy one and give it a try.

  6. Celine Says:

    Hello from Temecula ( not too far from Hungtington Beach) I discovered your blog via 64sqfkitchen that I discovered previously via Anna from A foodie Froggy in Paris…I really love your blog… need more time to enjoy it!

  7. michelle Says:

    how can you go wrong with that combo? and i love the deconstructed plating.

    i’ve never seen that type of pear before; they look super yummy. i do love me an asian pear, though.

  8. holybasil Says:

    Warda- Merci! You know, I bet you can find them at Randazzo’s. I think I may have seen them there before.
    Shayne – Your kids are awesome!
    Madeline- Yes, bacon sounds nice also. Thanks for the tip.
    Pierre – c’est dommage :(
    Cindy- I’m surprised with your varied outings that you haven’t tried it. Hope you do soon!
    Celine – bonjour! Thanks!
    Michelle- Deconstructed :) I love asian pears of any kind too.

  9. Jen Says:

    Your salads are always soooo classy! I just wish I liked blue cheese :( I’m so low brow…

  10. holybasil Says:

    Jen – I know how you feel about blue cheese. I only recently became a fan of it – it sorta crept up on me, I think.

    Low brow – well, I dunno ’bout that, girlfriend!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

