Back in OC – Gettin’ My Grub On

 

bbh_2.jpg

 

We are back home in Orange County for a little R&R. Our first stop was actually In N Out Hamburgers and I will post the photos of my double-double and strawberry shake along with my earnest, earnest love letter to that cherished institution another time — soon. For now, I wanted to post our recent meal at Ngu Binh Restaurant, a local eatery that specializes in Central [& South-Central] Vietnamese dishes. Before ordering and eating there, I can already tell that it’s my kind of place – a no-frills, refined whole-in-the-wall with minimal furnishings, neon lights, laminated menus and a parking lot over-packed with the Worst Drivers Ever in customized Japanese vehicles. At 2pm on a weekday, there was a long line out the door. Once we were seated and throughout our meal, we could see people continuing to line up outside. Inside, the place was brimming with activitiy; the waiters carrying out bowl after steamy bowl of noodle soups. There were only a few waiters – all older males – curt but professional (really, who cares how we’re doing?). You’ll have to go to the hip *fusion* joint down the street for the skanky waitresses with tight pants, eye-liner eyebrows and haughty, tottie attitudes. I feel so much better now that I’ve said that.

We ordred the dishes that they’re known for, the same ones everyone else around us had also ordered — Bún Bò Huế and Mì Quảng [which I pronounce like boon ball way and mee wang]. Bún Bò Huế is perhaps my favorite noodle dish after Pho. It has round udon-like noodles in an earthy, spicy broth topped with sliced pork leg or trotter, sliced beef tendon, chả lụa and cubes of congealed pig blood (huyết ) – mmmm, blood cubes. Mì Quảng is a typical dish you’d find in the cities of Đà Nẵng and Hội An. It’s another noodle dish but it has yellow, tumeric flavored rice noodles in minimal broth – just enough to coat them and topped with shrimp, pork, chả lụa, crushed peanuts and sesame rice crackers. In Hội An, our bowls of Mì Quảng also came with quail eggs and crunchy, little bits of pork crackling but here, it did not. Still, the noodle bowls came with the all the right garnishes – fresh, whole chilis (ot hiem), bean sprouts, thinly sliced banana blossom (my favorite), mint, vietnamese coriander (rau răm), lettuce and lime wedges. I’m not sure if it was because we haven’t had these dishes in so long, but our dishes did not disappoint. The broth for the Bún Bò Huế could have been a little spicier for me, but deep and flavorful nevertheless. The Mì Quảng was just a tad too salty but otherwise, it was delicious with the right amount of shrimp/pork to noodle ratio. Overall, we were more than pleased and hope to be back soon.

 

bbh_1.jpg

 

Ngu Binh Restaurant
14072 Magnolia St. No. 107
Westminster CA 92683
(714) 903-6000

We also hit Brodard Restaurant for Nem Nướng (pork meatballs rolled in lettuce, herbs and rice paper) and Bánh Xèo (crispy, savory crêpes with pork and shrimp). To me, Brodard seems to be an example where location is not paramount to the success of a restaurant; it’s located in the back corner lot of strip mall behind a dollar store. There was no line out the door but it was busy at lunchtime when we arrived. Our dishes came quickly and overall, they were aaaaight. The rolls were tasty but didn’t seem as fresh – the rice paper was on the stale side (I’m guessing they were made hours before – which would not be cool because it is a restaurant, not a to-go stall). The Bánh Xèo was nice and crispy on the outside and I could detect a strong hint of coconut milk in the batter, which was lovely. Unfortunately, it had maybe 1 piece of meat and 1.5 shrimp in the filling. We were further disappointed with our iced soy milk, which tasted like milky water. I know a lot of folks who are devoted to Brodard and I’m hoping our experience was just a minor fluke.

 

brod.jpg

 

Brodard Restaurant
9892 Westminster Ave
Garden Grove, CA 92844
(714)530-1744

 

Also, check out these articles/posts:

Hue Hot Broth from The LA Times

Nem Nướng from Wandering Chopsticks

Saigon Favorites from EatingAsia

I also wanted to mention that my recipes and photos were recently published in a local women’s magazine -Strut Mag. It is the first time my food photographs have been published and I’m very pleased to have worked with their staff, particularly Linda Lacina, the managing editor, who was open to all my ideas and was helpful throughout the process. Here’s a photo of the spread:

strut_m.jpg

 

 

Bon appétit!

 

14 Responses to “Back in OC – Gettin’ My Grub On”

  1. Wandering Chopsticks Says:

    Congratulations on getting your photos published! And eat hearty because you know you can’t get this kind of food in Michigan. ;)

    Brodard’s nem nuong is usually made to order so they should have been fresh. :( It’s all about the sauce for me. I’m not a fan of their banh xeo but I do love their banh tom.

    Ate at Ngu Binh once and wasn’t too impressed. I can’t believe there was a line out the door! But then again, Little Saigon is a madhouse around Tet!

  2. holybasil Says:

    WC-
    Thanks! Yes, I’m eating like *mad crazy* since I can’t get this kind of food in Michigan. I’ll have to try Brodard’s banh tom next time.

  3. Warda Says:

    Profites! Profites le plus possible! And you know how happy I am for your Strut Publication :) You really deserve it, as you are a very passionate woman

  4. White On Rice Couple Says:

    Wow, congrats on the beautiful spread in STRUT ! Is it available to view online?
    Good choices on the restaurants. Your restaurant pics are great! How do you do that? I get soooo scared to take pics in restaurant because I had a manager come up to me one time and asked me to not photograph the food. I was so embarrassed and hid under the table for the rest of the dinner! :(
    I’m shy.

  5. jimboloney Says:

    you might want to check out brodard chateau on brookhurst & trask, next to the in n out. not sure if its the same owner but the nem nuong and banh xeo is better, plus they have a jazzband 6 – 9 on wednesday nights.

  6. Cindy Says:

    I’m not that far from the restaurant,
    I have to try it out soon!
    The food looks delicious!

  7. Rasa Malaysia Says:

    Congrats…that’s so cool! I love going to Quan Hy whenever I am in Little Saigon. Love their bun bo hue there.

  8. holybasil Says:

    Warda – bah oui :) Et merci bc!
    WhiteonRiceCouple – Oh thanks! As for resto pics – I try to ask permission before I take a shot – just in case the proprietors are not cool with it. Most of the time, I think folks are happy to have their food photographed but I can relate to what happened to you – it happened to me once – apparently they needed all THREE managers to tell me not to photograph their food! Geesh.
    Jim – Thanks for the info on brodard chateau.
    Cindy- Thanks – let me know your thoughts if you do :)
    RM- I like Quan Hy for their BBH too.

  9. snowypeach5 Says:

    The bun bo hue looks yummy! Do you make it at home too?

  10. Jen Says:

    Looking at the photos of your eating tour in So Cal is giving me massive cravings! Congrats on the spread in the mag. You are a total stud. I hope you guys had a great time. It certainly looks that way :)

  11. holybasil Says:

    snowypeach5 – Yes, I make it at home. I’ll post a recipe soon, I hope. Do you have a good recipe to share? If so, I’m all ears as I love to learn more about Huế cooking.
    Jen – Thanks girl! We are loving it here – LOVING IT.

  12. New to the OC Says:

    I just moved to the OC, and found your blog while looking for local eateries and things to do in the OC. I was totally disappointed at Ngu Binh. Brodard is awesome, and they have 2 locations. You’d have to check out the new location on Trask & Magnolia.

  13. Passionate Eater Says:

    Wow, I am just catching up with your old posts and realized that you were published! What an honor, congratulations! I am glad that you got to celebrate in a sense by going back to Westminster and getting something you cannot get in Michigan, excellent Vietnamese restaurant faire at really great prices!

  14. elle Says:

    For banh xeo you must try “Nha Hang Van” which is across from Brodard. Not the cleanest restaurant but they are famous for their banh xeo and I personally think they are better than Brodard’s version.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

