Weekly Salad 3: Watercress with Blood Orange and Manchego

 

cress_bld_orange.jpg

 

I first tried manchego when I was in high school. My friend Carmen and her Spaniard family served me this cheese with dinner and I’ve been hooked on it ever since. Carmen is actually from the Canary Islands, (located off the coast of north-western Africa) but don’t tell her I told you that. She’s a Spaniard through and through – claro que si.

I think the nutty, rich flavor of manchego is a nice contrast to the peppery sharpness of watercress. Blood oranges are great this time of year so they get to come along for the ride, though they do add such a sweet tang and juiciness. Serve this with a light drizzle of almond oil (I really like the one made by Tourangelle) or olive oil and a small sprinkling of lemon juice. I topped it with roughly chopped almonds that I quickly toasted in the oven for 10 minutes at 350F.

I usually order my Spanish cheeses and dry-cured sausages like chorizo and salichichón, as well as goodies like turrón and membrillo from La Espanola Meats, a retail store located in Harbor City, California. If you’re ever in the area on a Saturday, you can stop by and enjoy some really fabulous paella that they make right on the premises.

 

Queso Manchego (aged 12 months) from La Espanola Meats
manch.jpg

 

¡Buen provecho!

 

 

6 Responses to “Weekly Salad 3: Watercress with Blood Orange and Manchego”

  1. Warda Says:

    I am hooked to your Monday Salads and this one sounds heavenly. I’ll write down the recipe and will have to try the Manchego! Thanks for this Christine!
    I love Tourangelle oils as well. I have their walnut oil right now.

  2. holybasil Says:

    Bonjour Warda- Thanks, I have to say, I really enjoyed this one. I love manchego – I could eat it everyday but dang it for being so fattening. But in moderation, it’s fine and so worth it.

    I have the walnut from Tourangelle too. Great minds think alike, n’est-ce pas? :)

  3. Alejandra Says:

    This is such a great combination. I love manchego with membrillo. I love the salty/sweet blend, but I never thought to add the watercress. I will have to try it out…

  4. Jen Says:

    Hey! I’ve had manchego with membrillo in Argentina. I’m not a huge cheese person, but it was delightful. Your salads royally kick ass, lady. They are gorgeous – GORGEOUS. But I cannot believe that Pierre is wasting away there on salads, eh? ;) That’s no way to feed a gazelle… ha! I have to forgo salads for a while, but I’ll dream of the lovely ones you keep creating. You’re an inspiration. xxoo

  5. holybasil Says:

    Alejandra – manchego and membrillo are my go-to party hors d’oeuvres, it’s a lot of bang for your buck!

    Jen- Oh thanks, dear! Yes, you’re right, Pierre is not wasting away only on salads – that is no way to approach the rARP :) I haven’t gotten around to posting all the rather fattening things I make on a weekly basis – like steak with potatoes/fries, spaghetti bolognese, and roast chicken with dauphinois potatoes. You know, after a year of regularly feeding these things to Pierre, he has not gained an ounce. Not an ounce. It is maddening, I tell you!

  6. Nadia Says:

    This sounds simple and delicious.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

