Foolproof Mayonnaise – There is a God!

 

egg_lineup.jpg

 

I don’t know how many times Pierre has had to listen to me wax poetic about Flo, her chicken eggs and the virtues of organic, cage-free eggs. I’m telling you – these babies are the real deal. They have beautiful brown (and sometimes pink or green) shells with crimson yolks that make the best omelette ever. Just looking at them makes me happy. I *heart* these eggs.

I wouldn’t obsess over these eggs so much if Pierre would just build me my chicken coop already.

Just about every week, my friend Flo comes to Ann Arbor and leaves me her fresh, farm eggs that she gets from the chickens she lovingly raises on her property in Hillsdale, Michigan. She keeps a separate residence near central campus in Ann Arbor. So every week or so, I’ll stop by her residence there and open the lid of a wooden box she keeps on the front porch where I’ll find my eggs all neatly packaged in cartons that she’s wrapped like precious cargo in tissue paper. I take my eggs out, leave my payment in the box and shut the lid. Life is good.

But things take a downward turn when I try to make mayonnaise. Despite my efforts to follow exactly Julia Child’s or Jaques Pepin’s recipes for mayonnaise, my numerous attempts failed miserably. You have no idea how gloomy and downright suicidal I felt after wasting yolk after yolk of Flo’s eggs. Total heartache. I couldn’t figure out what I did wrong. I did everything the recipes instructed me to do. But this is what it would always look like:

 

egg_drp_sp.jpg

 

As you can see, it’s not a smooth mayonnaise, but more like a thick, nastified egg drop soup. Ewww.

In my search for a reliable mayonnaise recipe, I came across expat Makiko’s food blog Just Hungry. Go there for beautiful and healthy Japanese food and stay for her knowledge, wit and overall amazing-ness. (She has detailed recipes for making soy milk and tofu!) Most notably, she also has a recipe for foolproof mayonnaise, with thorough instructions and step by step photos that you can find here. Hmmm…could she be Jen’s long-lost twin? :)

I followed her recipe precisely and voilà, mayonnaise. My life now has meaning. And, another bonus: it took less than 20 minutes from start to finish. Sweeeet.

Edit: I think I may have over-beat the mayonnaise a bit, I didn’t add enough lemon juice,so it was slightly stiffer than I would’ve liked.

 

mayo_set.jpg

 

What to do with this manna from poultry heaven? How about mixing it with some chopped shallots, cornichons and a few capers to make a quick tartar sauce? We served ours with a salad of Tantré Farms baby greens and poached chicken breast.

 

tartar_poulet.jpg

 

Bon appétit!

 

 

15 Responses to “Foolproof Mayonnaise – There is a God!”

  1. Hillary Says:

    I have never had or used homemade mayonnaise – that certainly looks better than Hellman’s!

  2. mycookinghut Says:

    This is cool! The recipes for making tofu and soy milk from Just Hungry interest me too! Thanks for sharing!

  3. Warda Says:

    Why are you doing this to me Christine? I thought we were friends! First Flo with her eggs and chickens bounty (Gosh, you are lucky!), and now a foolproof mayonnaise recipe! I always have this excuse of having my mayonnaise “qui tourne” so I can avoid making lip smacking homemade mayonnaise that is way better and fresher than Hellman’s.

    Poor hips of mine :)

  4. Shayne Says:

    I have tried to make homemade mayonnaise a few times and I always get the mess that you were getting. my sister-in-law makes great homemade mayonnaise and I always try to get what she makes and I fail. I will have to try this with the wonderful cage free eggs that I get from a guy at my Hubbies work. Thank you for sharing great information.

  5. Mom Says:

    I don’t make homemade mayo but I do want some of Flo’s eggs. Looking forward to our meeting face to face in a few weeks!

  6. maki Says:

    I’m glad my post helped you out :)

    god – i mean, maki :P

  7. holybasil Says:

    Hillary- Thanks! Yeah, I actually like Hellman’s but I hope you’ll try this homemade version sometime, quite different and better.
    Cookinghut-Thanks, I am glad the other links are interesting to you. I really want to make soy milk now! It’s on the agenda…
    Warda chérie, no worries: we’re going to dance off all the calories this summer, remember? :)
    Shayne-I hope you’ll try the recipe with your lovely eggs. Let me know how it goes.
    Momskitchen- I can hook you up with Flo – well, you know what I mean… see you soon!
    Maki- I love your sites. Thanks for such helpful posts.

  8. unclesally Says:

    mayo gets too thick not from over-beating, but from too much oil. you can thin it out by whisking in a bit of water &/or lemon juice or vinegar.

  9. Jen Says:

    First time I ever had homemade mayo was at my aunt’s house. She told me “oh yeah, you just need some eggs and a few other ingredients – then you beat the hell out of it.” Never tried it myself, but I can envision several great uses for it! Also never knew how to make tartar sauce (and in New Zealand they call it tar.TEAR sauce – I know this because I ate fish and chips like there was no tomorrow). Now I know and I’ll have to try it – yummmmmmmm, it looks so uberly delicious. Fresh eggs are a delight! I always buy organic, but have never had farm fresh eggs… *sigh*

    All I need is a long lost twin :) Do you know how many Jen Yus there are in the world? So many that one time I played a co-ed vball tournament in So Cal and the two other women on my team were named Jennifer, and one of them was Jennifer Yu. Very confusing for the guys to communicate with us on the court. ha ha ha!

  10. holybasil Says:

    Unclesally-
    Yes, you’re right…I whisked some lemon juice and it did come to a better consistency. Thanks!

    Jen- I love tartear sauce with fish and chips! I didn’t add chopped parsley this time, but that also would have been nice. I have to be careful not to overdo the capers – they’re good, but can easily become too much of a good thing, ya know?

    If we ever meet, Jen, I will have Flo’s eggs in hand for you! You’re right, there probably a lot of Jen Yus out there. I had a similar experience as you – one of my classes in college had 3 other girls with the same exact first and last name. Two had the same middle initial as me too. And of course, we were all small with dark hair. Good times…

  11. Cindy Says:

    Wow that looks simple and delicious!

  12. eatingplum Says:

    Thanks for your comments on my blog! I’m going to have to try your celery root suggestions…mashed celeriac does sound interesting!

  13. Smith Jones Says:

    I make mine in small batches, using a hand blender, right in the jar I’ll keep it in:

    http://www.instructables.com/id/Mayonnaise!/

  14. fabricate chicken coop Says:

    Well, your post is the freshest on this laudable topic. I agree with your conclusions and will eagerly look forward to your future updates. Saying thanks will not be sufficient, for the wonderful clarity in your writing. I’ll immediately grab your feed to stay informed of any updates. Delightful work and much success in your business endeavors!

  15. Cj Says:

    Delicious! I much rather take the small amount of time to make homemade mayo, than to go buy some store bought kind. Granted I LOVE Hellmans, but it doesn’t even compare to homemade.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

